Honda Spree and Elite 50 Forums

Keeping Spree Elite Aero 50cc and Gyro Alive!
It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:34 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 1:54 pm 
Offline
Noob
Noob

Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 8:07 pm
Posts: 10
Location: usa
Is there a way to convert a three prong gas tank float to a two prong wiring harness? Really enjoy all the info on this site. my spree goes 55 mph stock! lol


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 8:08 pm 
Offline
Elite
Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:17 pm
Posts: 449
Location: Michigan, USA
:lol: :lol: :lol: 55mph on a STOCK spree?! I don't think so. Not possible unless you do some 150cc or what ever motor swap. Or if it really is stock, it certainly isn't a Spree or other 50cc 80's Honda.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 10:47 pm 
Offline
CB900F
CB900F
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 9:45 am
Posts: 1417
Location: seattle
mattiscool wrote:
my spree goes 55 mph stock!

:bs:

_________________
I need to find some new haters...the ones I have are starting to like me.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2017 8:07 am 
Offline
Veteran OG
Veteran OG

Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 7:10 pm
Posts: 3456
Location: North of Seattle, WA
Quote:
Is there a way to convert a three prong gas tank float to a two prong wiring harness?

There is not way to make a wire connection that will allow the 3 wire sender to work with a 2 wire gauge.

The resistance of the senders from full/empty is much different between the two.

Attachment:
Spree_Fuel_Gauge_resistance.jpg
Spree_Fuel_Gauge_resistance.jpg [ 81.65 KiB | Viewed 1011 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 7:56 pm 
Offline
Elite
Elite

Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 11:57 pm
Posts: 331
Location: Florida
Does anyone know which year Sprees used the two wire vs the three wire sender?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 10:13 pm 
Offline
Elite
Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:17 pm
Posts: 449
Location: Michigan, USA
Kustomkarma wrote:
Does anyone know which year Sprees used the two wire vs the three wire sender?


84-85 = 2 Wires
86-87 = 3 Wires


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2017 6:26 am 
Offline
Elite
Elite

Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 11:57 pm
Posts: 331
Location: Florida
Thanks! ^^^


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2017 12:32 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:58 pm
Posts: 4397
Location: Nashville, TN.
mattiscool wrote:
my spree goes 55 mph stock!

.... :bowrofl: ....right,... :bowrofl: ....we ALL believe that.

_________________
RideRed
OH-ARRR Racing
#53 Gyro

<Gyro S><XL 100><Helix><NS50F><XL75><CMX450>
Trooper....Boss....Buzby..Barbie..Jon-Boy..Dolly
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2017 6:49 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2004 7:00 pm
Posts: 4178
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
mousewheels wrote:
There is not way to make a wire connection that will allow the 3 wire sender to work with a 2 wire gauge.


Hey, you're back! What's new?

_________________
Admin, Hondaspree.net

Buy new air filters and gasket kits here: http://stores.ebay.com/noiseguysstore


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2017 10:37 am 
Offline
Spree
Spree

Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 11:19 am
Posts: 180
Location: Pacific Northwest
mattiscool wrote:
my spree goes 55 mph stock! lol


I believe him, mine did to! When it was in the back of my work truck and I was speeding in a 45mph zone to get home and play with it!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2017 4:27 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2004 7:00 pm
Posts: 4178
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
What about putting a 100 ohm resistor in parallel with the sender? That would drop resistance at both ends of scale to something close... working from my phone calculator on trip...

_________________
Admin, Hondaspree.net

Buy new air filters and gasket kits here: http://stores.ebay.com/noiseguysstore


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 1:42 pm 
Offline
Noob
Noob

Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 8:07 pm
Posts: 10
Location: usa
Thanks for all the help and yes with my special gas, my stock Spree goes 55mph (That's Miles Per Hour). She starts to get a little wobbly when I get to 55, other wise she be hitting 60 I'm sure.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 4:22 pm 
Offline
CB900F
CB900F
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 8:54 pm
Posts: 1760
Location: northeast usa
Hi my friend. It's highly unlikely for a spree to go 55mph Stock. The speedo must not be accurate? But you said you were using special gas? Could you tell us what that is? Thanks.
As for the sender with the three wires will not work with the two wires harness. You need the two wire sander.

_________________
Life's a trip enjoy the ride.
94 elite SR, 86 spreedio, polini corsa, keli variator, 8.4, jet. speed 65 mph
spreedio video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BZr46_-douQ


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 11:44 am 
Offline
Noob
Noob

Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 8:07 pm
Posts: 10
Location: usa
The gas I use is military gas that my dad brought back from France in WWII. Only 551 Paratroopers were able to bring the gas back from there. That's all I can tell you. Thank you for the help with the gas tank question. I will post video of me on the interstate passing mini vans soon. Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group