Reviving an '86 Spree (again)

The place to discuss rides, accessories, or whatever is tangentially Spree/Elite-related

Moderator: Moderator

kmack
Noob
Noob

Reviving an '86 Spree (again)

Post by kmack »

This will be my introduction thread and the back-story to my wife's 1986 Honda Spree that she has flatly refused to get rid of! :hi:

My background: I've been into motorcycles (especially 2-strokes) since junior high school (early 80's). I've rebuilt 6 out of 7 motorcycles, so I have some knowledge...(at least a little!)

She bought the Spree from a college friend shortly after we moved into our house in the sumer of 1996. It had sat for at least 4 years then (that we knew of).
A quick cleaning of the gas tank and the carb and I had it running. We got it tagged/licensed, she got a Class M on her license, and then never rode it.

Some years later, I went thru the process again a few years later when we picked up an early-80's Suzuki FA50. We had a little scooter gang roaming the neighborhood! Sold the FA to a poor college student from across the street, and then the Spree sat again.

When I started racing my 240Z, the Spree transitioned into a sort of pit bike for a couple years. But then got pushed into the corner of the garage, again.

So here we are today, and I'm going down this same road all over again. The last time the Spree ran was at least 6-8 years ago (I know, I know...). At least I didn't leave any gas in the tank! Some fresh fuel, cleaned the carb as best I could for a quick try at starting, checked for spark, a little squirt of fuel down the intake, and it fired up! Bogged a little at heavy throttle, but it idled (roughly) and stayed running. But it was just enough to get me a 100 yds down the street before it stalled.

The plan: