86 Lollipop Green restoration

The place to discuss rides, accessories, or whatever is tangentially Spree/Elite-related

Moderator: Moderator

JRD56
Noob
Noob

86 Lollipop Green restoration

Post by JRD56 »

Hello, I’m a new member who recently aquired an 86 Lollipop Green Spree. Its pretty rough but I plan to retore it. I’ve got a lot of experience restoring such things but could still use some help. Does anyone know if the decals for this are availble? Also is there a paint code for the white and green colors. Any other advice would be appreciated.

Jim
Wheelman-111

Re: 86 Lollipop Green restoration

Post by Wheelman-111 »

Greetings:

Welcome to Honda Spree. You have a rare and worthwhile project to begin with. Pics? (We like pics...) There is (was?) a Member who was making Reproduction stickers for any scooter Honda (and others?) made printed onto adhesive material. His post may be at the top of one of the Forum categories, have a look.

Scooter plastics are ABS, and the color is molded-in through and through. There is a Color Code sticker, look under the saddle on the gas tank. But since the plastic parts were cheap, the intention was to replace, not repair or paint, broken ones. So there may not be a paint you can just buy in a can that'll match perfectly. In any case, be advised that it can be challenging to get paint to stick to this material, especially the stuff of which the floorboards are made. It would be a Minor Miracle to find the plastics in New Old Stock, but you can try to search using the part numbers.

I recommend you keep it as stock as possible. Some mechanical parts are getting tough to find, but someone here always seems to come through. (Except of course for a replacement America Red Elite front cover I'm trying to find...) :)
Wheelman-111
Most of my money is spent on scooterparts. The rest is just wasted.
"ISO": '03 Vespa ET4 Malossi187 74MPH
Flash 9: 2001 Elite SR Contesta 72 ZX Tran, 9:1 Gears, Stock Airbox/Carb/Pipe 58.8 MPH