Winter riding?

The place to discuss rides, accessories, or whatever is tangentially Spree/Elite-related

Moderator: Moderator

Johnny5
Spree
Spree

Winter riding?

Post by Johnny5 »

So I live outside of Chicago and was wondering if anyone is keeping it real and riding through the seasons.

We've had quite a bit of snow so far, and it's been very cold. But when it warms up to 30 deg F I was considering riding. However I'm a little reserved about the idea. What about salt? black ice? traction with cold tires?

How about you Michigan guys :?:

Oh yeah! One more thing, my blue demon was ridden by Crazy Z, a friend of mine, over the summer and got really good at the wheelies.
So he enrolled in a "Scooter jump competition" in the south side and hit 4 feet of air! And it still runs!

Kenny_McCormic
CBR1000RR
CBR1000RR

Post by Kenny_McCormic »

Dont ride in anything slick, dry roads only. Watch your jetting, cold air will lean it out and cause a meltdown.
I am not a mechanic, nor do I play one on TV. Actually my advice is probably worth slightly less than what you pay to view it.
Dac
Veteran OG
Veteran OG

Post by Dac »

BALLS TO THE WALL! ! ! ! !
All out or not at all.

stay off dry roads, stay on ice. Black ice if you can find it. :lol:
"Its not what you ride, its that you ride"
1996--------Honda Elite S-
1991--------Tomos Targa-
And a Bunch of other bikes.
Dac
Veteran OG
Veteran OG

Post by Dac »

Kenny_McCormic wrote:Dont ride in anything slick, dry roads only. Watch your jetting, cold air will lean it out and cause a meltdown.
Cold air will lean it out, but its to d*** cold out to overheat.

it evens it self out.
1991--------Tomos Targa-
po89mm
Spree
Spree

Post by po89mm »

im too much of a * to ride during the winter. I HATE cold weather.
Dac
Veteran OG
Veteran OG

Post by Dac »

po89mm wrote:im too much of a * to ride during the winter. I HATE cold weather.
Gloves make a huge difference.

like, an ungodly difference.
1991--------Tomos Targa-
ALOW1
Elite
Elite