89 Elite R - my first build

This is the place to post your scooter builds; everything from stock Spree restoration to water-cooled drag bikes.

Moderator: Moderator

89eliteR
Spree
Spree

89 Elite R - my first build

Post by 89eliteR »

Howdy Folks, on Sept 30th my MVI was up, and instead of getting it re inspected for the road to another month or so I decided to bring my bike in early so I can start tearing it down and get some ideas how I want to go about it. Now some background information - I'm a total newbie, but I do have a decent understanding of how the 2 stroke works. The reason I picked up this bike as a opposed to a new one, was so I could tinker and build something that is my own (and obviously learn allot along the way). :newb:

First Off I guess Ill list some specs, well what I know anyways, its a 1989 Honda Elite R SE50.

My first question I guess circles around the whole SE50 its self. I do wish to order a variety of parts, I just need to know what is compatible, and whats not? Are there any other models of the 50cc that share the same parts or specs?

As far as upgrade, I do want to invest into a BBK, maybe a carb, variator etc, but when I'm browsing the internetz and ebay, I get caught up in thinking if its going to be compatible or not.

I guess my next question, My shocks are ugly. They are rusty/crusty. I would like to either replace or rejuvenate them. They work well, but are an eye sore

Is there a way to clean these up/ give them a face life?

Next I have the clutch cover. Now, after removing all the bolts, its stuck on, and its on there good. I am confident I have all the bolts out, but it will not budge. I also noticed a nice hole in the bottom of it

On the clutch cover, there's lots of dirt and gunk around the carb area, I also noticed when I took off my air filter there was a lot of oil by the carb

also got a fair amount of oil around the plug

And of course, It wouldn't be a Nova Scotia vehicle without some rust: