Spree Paint Job: "HOW-TO" Step By Step Directions

This is the place to post your scooter builds; everything from stock Spree restoration to water-cooled drag bikes.

Moderator: Moderator

beno
Noob
Noob

Spree Paint Job: "HOW-TO" Step By Step Directions

Post by beno »

Hey! So, a while back I asked if any of you would like a ÔÇ£how-toÔÇØ on paint jobs, some of you said yes, so here it is. Hopefully it can help some people out.

I'm currently in the process of repainting by 87 Spree and figured I would make a how-to for painting your scoot. The reason I'm creating this how-to is because of the hours spent online without finding a step-by-step how-to on painting. So here it goes...

NOTE: I am not a professional painter and the method I used was just information I gathered from other posts around the net. My paint job wasnÔÇÖt perfect; however I am very very satisfied with it!

Here's what I started with... a perfect running 87 Spree I found on craigslist for $250 (I think)

First step: Obviously youÔÇÖre going to take of the body panels off of your bike. Fairly easy task until you get to the front fender as you do have to remove the front fork to get the fender off... I chose to leave it on and tape around to relieve myself of the headache I knew it would cause. Also, I chose to put back all nuts and bolts after I removed the panels so I knew where they would all go when I was done.Image

Side Note: While you have all of these panels off itÔÇÖs not a bad idea to go through your scooter and do a tune up. I cleaned the air filter, changed the spark plug, installed a new battery, fixed some wiring issues I was having and cleaned out my exhaust by throwing it on a charcoal fire then after painting with black high heat paint.(I was shocked that my spree was running after I saw the spark plug). Image