Owner of 2 Honda Gyros

This is the place to post your scooter builds; everything from stock Spree restoration to water-cooled drag bikes.

Moderator: Moderator

Vodka
Noob
Noob

Owner of 2 Honda Gyros

Post by Vodka »

First off, Glad there is a Honda Gyro friendly resource.
I will say I am more into 'Mopeds' and not scooters but could not resist the uniqueness of this little scooter.

I have 2 Gyros that need some general repair/upkeep and parts. Seemingly the part above the seat, and the carburetor cover seem to just disappear over the years, haha. Not a lot of people have those and I need a couple of each.
Anyway here we go.

The black one is a 1985, the red an 86. I am very new to gyros, not very new to 2-stroke motors ( reed valve, case inducted motors are just fine for me )
I know the black is a "Gyro S", not actually sure if the red one is considered an S ( don't have it in front of me) I recall the title saying "Color: Red, and 1986"

Better pictures to come

I will be asking some questions in this thread. I typically do that when I want to be spoon fed, I am perfectly capable of finding the answer/figuring it out but I have done a lot of trial-and-error ( mainly error) and do not wish to go through the error side.

The driveable one is the black gyro. With the help of an external fuel bottle (as pictured)

So first up with black gyro is a petcock cleaning. It will NOT run gas through the tank.
The fuel bottle works awesome. So clearly between the carburetor fuel inlet, and the tank there is an obstruction (petcock pickup, the selector, or fuel line has an obstruction)
Were in for some new fuel line tomorrow and a flush of the tank. Ill work on that and document that tomorrow.

The Red 86 is Missing a wheel and brake hub, and a carburetor and exhaust, and the mentioned covers.

I was thinking the black gyro will be my stock build, the red will be my mod build.