The Spree from H/e/l/l

This is the place to post your scooter builds; everything from stock Spree restoration to water-cooled drag bikes.

Moderator: Moderator

Gearhart
Spree
Spree

The Spree from H/e/l/l

Post by Gearhart »

This all started when I was a freshman. I saw one of the seniors at football workout roll up on a scooter in full football gear, I thought this was the coolest thing ever. I decided that when I got my license I needed one. 3 years later I was on Facebook on a truck form (I am really into old Chevy trucks and own 3 of them) and some guy posted a Honda Spree for sale for 100 bucks. At this time I had no clue about what a spree was I just saw a scooter and was like "yup I gotta have it" I called my dad and off we went to Monroe Washington to pick this thing up. We got there and I see this little beauty sitting in the garage. The kickstart was frozen so the guy thought the motor was seized but turns out it was a jammed up kickstart. I bought this thing for 60 bucks with a title. The catch is the title wasnÔÇÖt in this guys name. So we got it home and two hours later it was running. I rode it up and down the street a couple times and then it lost forward drive. I took the kickstart cover off and found that the crank splines were stripped. I looked for cranks and they seemed to be about 50 dollars. I found a spree on craigslist for 75 so I said screw it and loaded up the truck and drove down to Portland to pick it up. It's wiring harness was quite janky so I just took the motor out and took the crank out of it and swapped it into the other spree. I lowered it, cleaned it and rode it. Rode great! Since this thing was running I decided i needed a seat not made of ducktape. I headed over to goodwill and found a women's Pennington coat and bought it. I took it to the guy who did the seat in my truck and when he was done it looked sweet! only 50 bucks too. I powercoated the wheels gold and put new tires and tubes in it. At this point I thought sweet, no