aero 50 belt

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

Post Reply
motorman 5487
Noob
Noob
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 11:07 am

aero 50 belt

Post by motorman 5487 » Fri Apr 12, 2019 11:19 am

I recently bought a 1985 aero 50, my question is the belt supposed to be very loose? I have had sprees b4 and it seems the belts where much tighter. it doesn't seem like the variator is working, is a loose belt causing this?

User avatar
vintagegarage
Elite
Elite
Posts: 541
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 7:03 pm
Location: Florida

Re: aero 50 belt

Post by vintagegarage » Fri Apr 12, 2019 3:39 pm

Loose is a vague term, but I think they should be as tight as a spree belt. Start by downloading the workshop manual at:
http://www.motorscooterguide.net/Manual ... Manual.pdf

There are a couple of photos of the belt in section 8 of that manual. It has been my experience that you have to tug on a new belt fairly firmly to get it over the end of the crankshaft and up onto the center bush, assuming that the belt is correctly seated in the clutch pulley.

motorman 5487
Noob
Noob
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 11:07 am

Re: aero 50 belt

Post by motorman 5487 » Fri Apr 12, 2019 8:40 pm

thanks for the info

harleyracer59
Goped
Goped
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 3:56 pm
Location: Nickastan ca

Re: aero 50 belt

Post by harleyracer59 » Fri Apr 12, 2019 10:20 pm

if the belt is worn out itll be too thin of width. that could cause your slack. and even if variator was working properly, too thin of belt wont ride where it needs to.

cancunia
Spree
Spree
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:45 am
Location: Lincolnshire, England

Re: aero 50 belt

Post by cancunia » Sun Apr 14, 2019 7:33 am

Don't forget to put some slack in the belt by squeezing the clutch bell housing before you refit & tighten the variator nut. There's some mention of this in the Wiki IIRC. If the belt doesn't need to be slackened in this way, it's maybe too loose. The workshop manual will also have a minimum width tolerance.

User avatar
Wheelman-111
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10977
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 5:09 pm
Location: Deepinnaharta, Texas

Re: aero 50 belt

Post by Wheelman-111 » Mon Apr 15, 2019 9:47 am

Greetings:

15mm is the minimum width, as I recall. Some P.O. might've simply put the wrong belt on it. Check for markings on the belt you have. It should measure no more than 644mm with a tape run around the outside.
Wheelman-111
Most of my money is spent on scooterparts. The rest is just wasted.
Still Seeking Red PCX-150
Flash 9: 2001 Elite SR Contesta 72 ZX Tran, 9:1 Gears, Stock Airbox, Carb and Pipe 58.8 MPH
Punkin: 2010 Vespa/Malossi S78, 99KPH

:coolcruise:

Post Reply