Motor mount question.

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

Post Reply
Nick13F
Noob
Noob
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 13, 2020 7:02 pm

Motor mount question.

Post by Nick13F » Mon Jun 29, 2020 9:54 pm

I impulsively bought a stretched spree mount for an af16 swap and was wondering what other motors will fit the same lower bracket? I plan on slowly building into a full custom ride.
Attachments
3D2AC29A-D504-47C4-957A-E26EB8044FB9.jpeg
3D2AC29A-D504-47C4-957A-E26EB8044FB9.jpeg (29.41 KiB) Viewed 101 times

User avatar
Ben L.
Board Supporter
Board Supporter
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:10 pm
Location: Green Bay, WI

Re: Motor mount question.

Post by Ben L. » Mon Jun 29, 2020 11:24 pm

Run the AF16!

User avatar
bonesv
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1931
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 2:00 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Motor mount question.

Post by bonesv » Tue Jun 30, 2020 1:04 am

Ben L. wrote:
Mon Jun 29, 2020 11:24 pm
Run the AF16!
:rock:
Honda Elite SR
Honda Elite-Dio ZX

Dio ZX Headlight/Disc Brake Mod: http://hondaspree.net/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?t=30861

Nick13F
Noob
Noob
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 13, 2020 7:02 pm

Re: Motor mount question.

Post by Nick13F » Tue Jun 30, 2020 1:18 am

bonesv wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 1:04 am
Ben L. wrote:
Mon Jun 29, 2020 11:24 pm
Run the AF16!
:rock:
Now the question is where can I find one?

User avatar
Meatball
CB900F
CB900F
Posts: 2069
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 10:45 am
Location: seattle

Re: Motor mount question.

Post by Meatball » Tue Jun 30, 2020 6:56 am

They pop up for sale from time to time. Sometimes here, ebay, facebook or any other various places. Price is determined by condition and whats included with it. Best thing to do is have cash ready and be watching for one. Be ready to pounce when it comes up for sale because they sell quickly. Good luck with the hunt!
I need to find some new haters...the ones I have are starting to like me.

harleyracer59
Spree
Spree
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 3:56 pm
Location: Nickastan ca

Re: Motor mount question.

Post by harleyracer59 » Fri Jul 10, 2020 6:38 pm

did you buy that off fleabay? that thing has been in there forever. if it is the same one.
it looked crooked in the item pics, and is way too long imo. think it was something like an 8" stretch? 2-4" is about all that actually is functionable. 6" is pushing it and cables need to be replaced then.
as to your what will fit question, with shims in it, any engine will. af16 uses a m10 mounting bolt. aero spree elite se & sb af05e use a m8 mounting bolt. i think the ab07 first gen aero uses a m10, but would have to double check that.

i think i used kicker cover locating dowels/pins as shims on my 87 se/dj1. i put the af 16 in my orange first gen aero/tact and used the mount on my dj1. the af16 motor mount 1-1.5" longer than the variated af05e mount

User avatar
Meatball
CB900F
CB900F
Posts: 2069
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 10:45 am
Location: seattle

Re: Motor mount question.

Post by Meatball » Fri Jul 10, 2020 11:31 pm

Not to mention, with a stretch that long you’ll need to get creative with a shock mount, get longer fuel/vac lines, brake/throttle cable and possibly need to extend the wiring harness to reach the stator connection. That thing looks like a 12” stretch or something. Crazy.
I need to find some new haters...the ones I have are starting to like me.

Nick13F
Noob
Noob
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 13, 2020 7:02 pm

Re: Motor mount question.

Post by Nick13F » Sat Jul 11, 2020 1:11 am

I did get it off eBay. It’s comically long about 10” total length, thinking about chopping and welding it shorter when I get to that build.
And thank you for answering my question.
harleyracer59 wrote:
Fri Jul 10, 2020 6:38 pm
did you buy that off fleabay? that thing has been in there forever. if it is the same one.
it looked crooked in the item pics, and is way too long imo. think it was something like an 8" stretch? 2-4" is about all that actually is functionable. 6" is pushing it and cables need to be replaced then.
as to your what will fit question, with shims in it, any engine will. af16 uses a m10 mounting bolt. aero spree elite se & sb af05e use a m8 mounting bolt. i think the ab07 first gen aero uses a m10, but would have to double check that.

i think i used kicker cover locating dowels/pins as shims on my 87 se/dj1. i put the af 16 in my orange first gen aero/tact and used the mount on my dj1. the af16 motor mount 1-1.5" longer than the variated af05e mount

Post Reply