Trying to get old spree to run--Help!

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

Musicman823
BMX
BMX

Trying to get old spree to run--Help!

Post by Musicman823 »

Okay guys,

I took noiseguy's advice and read through as much of the previous posts-on this topic-as I could stand. I would like to get some quasi "real-time" advice on this one. Here goes:

A few weeks ago, I found a 84 candy-red spree siting in some broke-down pawn shop. Since I am just getting into fixing bikes, and I wanted a project to work on, it seemed like the perfect deal. The bike had been in the shop for a few months and I'm sure that it had been siting out in the rain for a few decades before that--judging by the rust and gunk buildup. I bought the bike for a measly $60, and it is complete, as far as I can tell, with a few cosmetic exceptions.

1. The tank had expired gasoline and plenty of rust. I cleaned it out using some of the methods I read about online. Cleaned air strainer. It is now free of rust.

2. The oil was very dirty, and I'm not sure, but I think there might have been some rust in it as well. This means that there is rust in the engine, correct? I changed the oil and blead the oil lines. Cleaned oil strainer.

3. The Carb. Dirty, dirty, dirty. I cleaned it out with a major dose of carb cleaner and compressed air. Reinstalled.

4. Battery. Dead. I decided to jump the bike using a car battery, and the starter seemed to be working. I got it to turn but the engine would not turn. I thought that this might mean that the engine was stuck, but I opened up the crank cover and manually turned the crank, and it turned just fine.