Back tire seized! What could it be?

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

SpreeWilly
BMX
BMX

Back tire seized! What could it be?

Post by SpreeWilly »

I have a stock 1984 Honda Spree with 3,300 miles. I noticed it was running a little warmer than I thought usual, but it was not making any odd sounds and was keeping up well with traffic (27-30 mph).

About 20 minutes ago I turned a corner, heard a very slight squeal/pop (hardly loud enough to hear--I just heard it because I'm an experienced driver and always drive with my ears), and the back tire seized up solid. I can't remember now if the engine stopped on its own or if I shut it off (I think I shut it off). I originally thought the engine seized up on me, but I just went outside and it started it. The engine will currently start and idle satisfactorily (not great, but not bad either), just the back tire is completely seized.

So, experienced Spree mechanics, what are the possibilities? Break line? Belt? Where do I begin?

Any help would be much appreciated!
Thanks!

Landon
Trafficjamz
CBR1000RR
CBR1000RR

Re: Back tire seized! What could it be?

Post by Trafficjamz »

axle bearing is frozen.

or the gears are broken.
new best 1/8th mile time 9.647 seconds @67.155 mph 310lbs total weight
Wheelman-111

Post by Wheelman-111 »

Greetings:

I've seen two examples of the little brake cam - the oval fitting that's twisted by the lever to which the brake cable attaches - becoming so stiff that it won't release brake pressure. Very worn brakes can cause it to jam in "full-brake" position. This can also an issue with the brake shoes deteriorating and getting jammed against the drum.
Quoth Willy:
Where do I begin?
Disassembly.
Wheelman-111
Most of my money is spent on scooterparts. The rest is just wasted.
"ISO": '03 Vespa ET4 Malossi187 74MPH
Flash 9: 2001 Elite SR Contesta 72 ZX Tran, 9:1 Gears, Stock Airbox/Carb/Pipe 58.8 MPH