I need some advice

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

kaisarwilhelm
Noob
Noob

I need some advice

Post by kaisarwilhelm »

I am new to the world of scooters and I want to learn about motors and how they work so I can do my own work. However, I am going to need a lot of technical help if I am going to buy a winter project bike. I realize that a project bike would motivate me to learn quickly as I would need to ride it by late March or early April. I am looking to purchase something to commute to work. I live 5 miles away from work and the highest the speed limit gets is 40, so I would like to get close to that in speed (for safety). I am really tight on funds, which is another advantage of a scooter...it would pay for itself in a year. I am okay with a two stroke and have been shopping around. I refuse to buy chineese and I do not have the money for European or Genuine, that leaves me with an old Honda or Yamaha. I have recearched a lot and am left with old Honda motors run forever. Getting to my point, I found this ad on Craigslist: http://jxn.craigslist.org/mcy/3394919301.html

I think for a spree ('86) and an elite E (89?) that is a great deal. The guy bought them broken and didn't get around to fixing them. He said something about putting starting fluid in it and it ran. They are complete, but the carbs may need cleaning...or something worse. I don't want lemons, so my question would be can you guys help me get them running if I provide detailed information on my progess. If you help me fix them both, I will sell the spree to you for a great deal. If I can't get them both running, are the engines the same engine (or are any parts compatible) and does the elite have a CVT trans or just the silly single gear that the spree does?

Any help is appreciated and it is urgent since he has had the ad up a few days already.
motormike

Re: I need some advice

Post by motormike »