86 Honda Spree Kickstart problems

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

rowe94
Goped
Goped

86 Honda Spree Kickstart problems

Post by rowe94 »

Alright to start off I am a college student who picked up an old Honda Spree to dink around on. Its ran great the last couple of weeks and today while riding it I started her up (first kick) and took off, about 300 yards down the road she died on me and I couldn't get her started again. I stopped and tried kick starting her. There seemed to be some resistance while kick starting which was confusing. I pushed it from campus back to my house where I tried to take a better look. It still was having issues with the kick start and it not seeming to kick over. The scooter was owned by the previous owner the last 17 years I don't know how much maintenance was done but I was wondering what all I should do. Im hoping to use it this summer and hopefully a couple of years but I don't know what is necessary. Someone mentioned that I might need a new Cylinder and piston but I have no idea where to even start. Since i am living in an apartment I don't have a ton of room to take it apart and work. Im moving to a friends house in a couple of weeks and should be able to take it apart and leave it apart for a while. If anyone is from the Grand Rapids area and would want to help a fellow Spree rider that would be awesome! Thanks in advance.
Videonut
Spree
Spree

Re: 86 Honda Spree Kickstart problems

Post by Videonut »

NO
the kick start is probly the issue.

super easy just take the cover off the side of the kick start and remove the screws that hold the kick lever on. then take that long cover that has the kick start shaft in it, it has a bunch of screws. its the cover for your belt.