Honda Dio zx50 fresh build, help.

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

mantrans
BMX
BMX

Honda Dio zx50 fresh build, help.

Post by mantrans »

HI guys/gals, hoping to get some help and that this is the correct place to post.

I just put together my zx50/dio and I am having some issues, I have been working on performance stuff for years, mainly cars,atvs and dirtbikes but I am new to this
Mods: 72cc malossi sport big bore kit,pg longpipe v8 pipe whatever,19mm polini carb and polini filter
Variator with 7.5 rollers
Polini race clutch with reinforced spring and 3k rpm clutch springs
Naruku de restricted cdi
Fuel is premix vp 110 with klotz 30:1
90 main jet
160lbs 5'10"
everyting else was just oem replacement stuff like stator and such.

On to the issues: Takes off ok, starts to accelerate hard when I hit 30mph it hiccups just a bit, not a huge bog or decrease in speed just a small hit like it lost a tad bit of power. The bike then comes on strong all the way to 48-50mph, then it completely loses acceleration, I have a tach that only reads 9k so the whole time the needle will be pegged to its maximum reading but at the listed speed it will drop instantly to about 8,200 rpm and stay there constantly, I might go from 50 to 52 but thats it. Its not making any noise but is feels as its hitting an invisible rev limiter. Plug looks good, I have tried 90,100,102,110,118 main jets and played for hours on a empty road with the air fuel mixture screw. Crazy thing is that 1 or 2 times out 10 the bike will just rip from 0 to 60+ but most of the time it just does its little limiter thing where it wont allow the bike to build any more power. Thanks for all the help in advance!!!!

Also I have a one off spark plug in there, as the factory size plug does not fit ( too small diameter wise) so I got some el cheapo from a auto parts store for a lawn mower. What is a good plug and correct size? thanks.
Wheelman-111