Purchased used 84 Honda Spree...Drive Belt System wack?

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

Marrowbeorn
Noob
Noob

Purchased used 84 Honda Spree...Drive Belt System wack?

Post by Marrowbeorn »

Hi there,

So i'm very new to scooter life. I came across a killer deal on a honda spree and couldn't pass it up. It wasn't running at first and we figured out it was the drive pulley assembly that was loose. We noticed that the little grooves on the outer face werent lining up with the ones on the inside so we took out a washer that turned out to be neccessary (didn't realize at the time). It still drove until it had trouble going, I took it apart and saw that the inner drive pulley was burning/grinding into the metal.

I ended up buying a replacement washer and putting it together again. It drove pretty well, but it seemed to get really hot where the drive pulley/clutch is. I'm not sure if that's normal but it soon broke down and after I took it apart I noticed the washer I had replaced had broken in half. Maybe from the heat?

So here we are now, I ordered a new washer, a new belt (the heat/friction seemed to ruin the other one) and tried to put it together again. it seems to be a tight fit, the little teeth don't match up with the outer drive pulley face...but it still drives if I tighten the nut really tight... but it still got realllly hot.

I'm sorry I don't know the right lingo..and this might be very confusing. I just really want to figure this out. It seems like an easy fix?!

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

-Molly
Attachments
the new washer
the new washer
IMG_4444.JPG (183.53 KiB) Viewed 5748 times
IMG_4440.JPG
IMG_4440.JPG (107.89 KiB) Viewed 5748 times
the inner teeth of this pulley face don't match up
the inner teeth of this pulley face don't match up
IMG_4446.JPG (93.88 KiB) Viewed 5748 times
eclark5483
CB900F
CB900F

Re: Purchased used 84 Honda Spree...Drive Belt System wack?