New 1994 elite 50sr owner

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

Kungfooomonkey
Noob
Noob

New 1994 elite 50sr owner

Post by Kungfooomonkey »

Hello everybody. I was gifted a 1994 honda elite sr50 which I love,only got 126 miles on it. Trouble is it had been sitting in a garage for 15 years with a full tank of now varnish in it. I'm no mechanic but I can turn a few wrenches. Strip her down emptied and cleaned tank new pepcock fuel lines, plug, battey, strip and clean carb (4times) new needle and seat. Put it all back together with out plastics. Starter fluid in carb. Kicked kicked and kicked squirt starter fluid a boom she's alive yaay. However heres the problems that are driving me mad. Electric start cranks and cranks but will not fire, will not idle. needle all way in and out makes no difference but runs amazing when feathering throttle and lastly headlight very dull but turn signals bright and good aswell as brake and tail light. Any help would be amazing and I'm sorry if this has all been posted before but I think I've stared at carbs till I am crosseyed. Help please.need fresh eyes on this.
Rip_City_Spree
CB900F
CB900F

Re: New 1994 elite 50sr owner

Post by Rip_City_Spree »

Starter fluid is bad news for 2strokes. Just beware if you do it. No oil to lubricate it. Clean the carb again check air filter check plug. Make sure your getting fuel into the carb. Clean carb again. I've heard guys need to clean it quite a few times to get it clean., screw needs to be 1.5 turns out. Make sure exhaust is clear. And welcome to the addiction
01 Elite SR
polini corsa
Polini 26mm Carb
Naraku intake
Naraku sport variator
Currently 5g rollers
zx trans
Arrow
red contra with yellow clutch springs.
RIP CITY
RIP NO MERCY KERSEY
'O'VerSe
BMX
BMX

Post by 'O'VerSe »

Battery might need a charge from sitting so long. I picked up a new Battery Tender(charger) from harbor freight for $6. Couldn't hurt to top it off.