Questions regarding repairs to a Honda Elite E 1989

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

ThoughT
Noob
Noob

Questions regarding repairs to a Honda Elite E 1989

Post by ThoughT »

Hi all, new here.

I've had a Honda elite E from 1989 in my garage for a few years and I am a complete novice when it comes to cars/scooter repair. I have a few things that I need help with and could use any assistance you are willing to give. Thanks in advance.

1. It wants to shut off when I do U turns. It was in my garage for about 2 years and I recently started it up. I put in fresh gas, but it likely had less than 1/4 a tank already of old fuel and then put in additives to clean the fuel injector and corroborator. It's been doing a bit better with those additives but I am not sure what the issue is.

2. How do I change the oil on this thing?! I found a gold flat head screw on the side, right above the engine I think, but I think old gas or some sort of liquid came out. Definitely not oil.

3. I purchased a new battery for it, but I think my alternator is dead. It lights up everything bright when I am revving the engine, but if I am not, the blinkers, horn, etc barely works. How can I replace this and how much does it cost?

Thanks for any help in advance.
Meatball
CB900F
CB900F

Re: Questions regarding repairs to a Honda Elite E 1989

Post by Meatball »

Take it to a shop
I need to find some new haters...the ones I have are starting to like me.
motormike

Post by motormike »

Scooter that has sat unridden for a "few years" with gas in the tank and carburetor will need to be emptied, flushed, and cleaned thoroughly.
Inside the carburetor are components that become varnished with evaporated gasoline, and subsequently will not function properly.
1. I suggest that the complaint you have of "dying in U-turns" is directly related to your gummy carb internals, and clogged idle jet, and low fuel level in the carb bowl.