NQ50 Spree Battery

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

GMSierraon24s
Noob
Noob

NQ50 Spree Battery

Post by GMSierraon24s »

Well, I was given a Honda Spree Model: NQ50 Color is R-127. I'm not sure what year this spree is. I'm thinking that its an 1984 or 1985. I did a quick search on this battery that I current have which is a Yakia YB4L-B. This battery has a battery acid over-flow tube. I tried to charge the current battery with a battery charger but had no luck. The current battery you have to maintain the acid right?

I'm looking to buy a battery that is maintenance free. Any suggestions?

The spree has been seating in a shed for awhile maybe years. I'll do more searching on here to see what I have to do clean out the the old gas or maybe new spark plug to start. I'm a total newbie to mechanical work. That's one of the main reasons why I was looking forward to this slow project when I have free time every so often. Thanks for any help is very much appreciated!
eclark5483
CB900F
CB900F

Re: NQ50 Spree Battery

Post by eclark5483 »

You'll also want to change the air filter, and possibly even the tires. Post a pic of it and we can tell you what year red spree it is. Lots of info here to help you out.
vintagegarage
Elite
Elite

Post by vintagegarage »

Start by downloading and reading the front of the Spree workshop manual. The workshop manual is at:

http://www.motorscooterguide.net/manual ... Manual.pdf

Page 1.2 of the service manual shows the location of the VIN sticker. If you lay on the ground on the right side of the scooter, with your head near the front wheel and look up, you will see it on the frame down tube.. the year of the scooter will be in large font on that sticker..

These gel batteries work just fine, and because they are gel filled, they can come in the mail.. it's hard to beat the price:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/YTX4L-BS-Scoote ... SwhQhY72sY