1984 Honda Nifty 50 (NQ50)

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

rayraynz
Noob
Noob

1984 Honda Nifty 50 (NQ50)

Post by rayraynz »

Hello everyone,

I have just picked up a 1984 Honda Nifty NQ50 which has been used a a golf scooter for the last 10 years.

I have no experience with these scooters so wanted to ask a few questions.

The scooter is stock standard apart from the tyres which have been fitted for use on the golf course.

I have been using if for the last 2 weeks commuting to and from work, only 3km.

1 - What would the expected speeds this scooter should travel. I am currently experience 40-44km an hour on the flat, 37-39km up hill, and approx 50-50km when going downhill.

2 - I am often experiencing slow take off speed (low rpms) and once the rpms pick up, it goes fine. How can this be fixed

3 - There was an issue with the oil tank, so i have disabled this and running a premix 40;1, is this ok?

4 - Are the horns on these scooters all high frequency horns that I would compare to a shopping checkout scanning buzzer?

Thanks for your help and look forward to any replys / help.

Ray
Attachments
Scooter.JPG
Scooter.JPG (74.6 KiB) Viewed 9343 times
vintagegarage
Elite
Elite

Re: 1984 Honda Nifty 50 (NQ50)

Post by vintagegarage »

1. your speeds are pretty close to normal. When new and in tip top shape, you should expect about 50-52 KM per hour on the level and also when going downhill. Speed uphill depends on the steepness of the hill, but your speed is about right for a very steep hill.
2. the slow takeoff speed can't be fixed. There is no variator in your scooter, so takeoff is like starting in high gear.
3. yes, ok, but you would do better to get a used oil tank with no issues and use it instead of pre-mixing.
4. not sure about the horns in the New Zealand versions, but the U.S. versions sound like a beep instead of a honk.