86 Spree drive belt

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

marximus
Noob
Noob

86 Spree drive belt

Post by marximus »

Hi guys, first off I'm a noob, however this site has helped me alot in the six months I've had my 86 Spree.... So thanks!

So my issue began with the nut that holds the front gear for the drive belt falling off. Easy fix? Nope! First it wasnt on tight enough, then I believe it was on too tight. I was riding home last week and the belt snapped, got caught between the rear gear and the case causing my rear tire to stop spinning. Luckily I had a ratchet and got the case apart, the broken belt unstuck and managed to push it alllll the way home.

I ordered a new honda belt, but I'm a little apprehensive just slapping it back in. I read on the wikispreedia about torque and how that nut has to be tightened perfectly, however I dont have access to that kind of equipment. I have a 9/16 socket and a pair of vice grips. Maybe someone can post a picture of their nuts :lol: so I can get a rough idea of how far to get the nut on or offer any advice? I'm a super noob with this stuff and unfortunately I rely on my spree for daily transportation. Thanks in advance!
bonesv

Re: 86 Spree drive belt

Post by bonesv »

Go to auto parts store and borrow what you need. Ask for help if you have local friends or motorcycle shop. The splines on the end of the crankshaft are most critical.
Honda Elite SR
Honda Elite-Dio ZX

Dio ZX Headlight/Disc Brake Mod: http://hondaspree.net/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?t=30861
marximus
Noob
Noob

Post by marximus »

Sorry, splines?
My belt arrived today, managed to wrangle it on. Guestemated the torque the best I can. Gonna test drive it tomorrow. Hopefully its happy. $65 cdn for a piece of rubber!