Please forgive a noob on temperature questions

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

tungxvu
Noob
Noob

Please forgive a noob on temperature questions

Post by tungxvu »

I am really new to these 2-stroke engines, and I have a couple of noob questions:

I have a 87 Spree that my friend gave to me. Here are the things we did to the bike.

a) My friend he installed a 48mm BBK he bought from Taz on Ebay. He did a very good job installing it since we got a compression of about 132psi.

b) I installed the jet (#90???) that Taz sent with the kit.

c) My friend already cut three one-inch-diameter holes on the airbox lid and retained the filter.

d) We did not modify the gears at all, but did a 128:1 premix in the gas tank and retained the oil injection pump.

Anyways, here are my questions:

1) The bike seems to bog down and * a little at around 20mph, and it will top out at about 24mph. I had to open up the air mixture screw a couple of turns, and the symptoms lessened significantly, but were not completely eliminated. The (new) plug seems to be running a bit rich since it looks kind of wet and black.

2) I started blocking off the three one-inch-diameter holes on the airbox lid, and found that reducing them to 1/2" in diameter would be much better. The bike can do about 32mph now and the hesitation/* is gone. However, another new spark plug still looks a bit wet and black.

3) I installed a temperature gauge - the type with a ring underneath the spark plug - and found that the bike is running at around 280F. Is this temperature OK, or is it an indication of a too-rich condition. Will it hurt anything if I keep running it at this lower temperature?

Thank you very much and please go easy on the new guy :newb: :newb:
1987 Honda Spree
Westminster, California
bonesv

Re: Please forgive a noob on temperature questions

Post by bonesv »