'96 Honda Elite 80 Fuel Line

Trying to get your Spree/Elite to run, or run better? Post your questions here.

Moderator: Moderator

ReceiverHitch
Noob
Noob

'96 Honda Elite 80 Fuel Line

Post by ReceiverHitch »

Howdy!

I recently picked up a Honda Elite Ch 80 from 1996. Gorgeous scooter, less than 2000 miles and clean as a whistle! Only problem is a fuel line leak; the previous owner was too rough on it when they put it back together after cleaning the carburetor, there's a small hole spewing gas right where it connects to the nipple.

I was able to find parts online no problem, but I've reached out to every single scooter and motorcycle shop within the city of Chicago and they're all terrified to touch the d*** thing. These scooters are some of the most common in the US, why is everyone so afraid to touch it? :roll:

At this point I'm just considering trying to replace it myself, but I'm brand new to scooters and I've never replaced an automotive part before in my life. Any tips, pointers or tutorials anyone is willing to share? Wasn't able to find much on replacing fuel lines for these guys by searching on Google.
motormike

Re: '96 Honda Elite 80 Fuel Line

Post by motormike »

At the point of leaking, remove the line from the nipple.
Trim the split end of the line carefully.
Re-attach to nipple.
If line does not have enough length to trim and re-attach,
get new line at any hardware or automotive store and replace entirely.
Diameter is important, so be sure to replace with same.
RideRed
<Gyro S><MB5><Honda Navi><Helix><Sym Wolf><Yamaha Razz><Honda CH150 Deluxe>
"Live Large - Ride Small"
ReceiverHitch
Noob
Noob

Post by ReceiverHitch »

Thanks! I will give that a go and post here if I run into amy problems.
ReceiverHitch
Noob
Noob

Post by ReceiverHitch »

Update: