Buying first motorcycle!

Want to discuss non-Honda scooter related items? Post them here.

Moderator: Moderator

bfowler
Elite
Elite

Buying first motorcycle!

Post by bfowler »

Hey guys. Thinking about buying a motorcycle sometime within the upcoming couple of months and so I wanna start looking through Craigslist. Just had a couple of questions and I know there are a lot of long time riders here. First of all, I'm going to be getting a sport bike and am debating between the Kawasaki Ninja 300 or the Yamaha R6 (600cc). I've taken the MSF course and I have my license but I'm still on the fence about getting a 600cc to start with. I've read a lot about it and I think I'm not a complete beginner since I've been riding scooters and I have taken the class, but I am by no means a seasoned rider. Thus, I can't decide if I should start with the 300 and then trade up or just go for the 600 (mainly because starting with the 300 means I would probably lose $1000+ after trade in). Additionally, should I search for one on Craigslist or should I buy it from the dealer? Sometimes it seems that buying off Craigslist and saving a few dollars isn't worth the risk of buying a possibly bad bike. What do you guys think, dealership or Craigslist? And if Craigslist, what are some things that I should look for when purchasing a bike and checking over it? Lastly, any tips for riding would also be greatly appreciated! Any definite DO NOT DOs or things of that sort? Thank you, very much appreciated.
ped
CB900F
CB900F

Re: Buying first motorcycle!

Post by ped »

Hi b,
The R6 is VERY FAST, and POWERFUL. It will top out @ about 170mph. at that speed used bikes are somewhat beat on.
The 300 is a great starter bike, but you can get a 350 vespa that can perform better.
what I suggest is get a new bike with a warranty and low payments.
buy what you like.
there are some good deal at dealers you just have to shop around. not all bike dealers are the same.