Yamaha Champ LC50 manual?

Need help with your non-Honda scooter? Yamaha, etc? Post here!

Moderator: Moderator

kentdog007
Goped
Goped

Yamaha Champ LC50 manual?

Post by kentdog007 »

Hello,

I have a non-running Yamaha Champ LC50 (1980-81) and cannot find much along the lines of a service manual for it.

It is pretty complete, was on the road in 2004 but it is an odd little bike; 6v, no electric start.

When I try and kick start the bike, it has very little resistance and it makes a real smooth quiet noise; the smallest amount of light grey smoke comes out of the exhaust.

Any help or direction would be great. Thanks. :)
Kenny_McCormic
CBR1000RR
CBR1000RR

Post by Kenny_McCormic »

Sounds like it was run without oil and the topend is shot(assuing its a 2 stroke without oil injection)? Pour a table spoon of oil in the spark plug hole, crank it without the plug several times, repalce the plug, squirt some gas in the carb and see what happens.
I am not a mechanic, nor do I play one on TV. Actually my advice is probably worth slightly less than what you pay to view it.
kentdog007
Goped
Goped

Oil injection

Post by kentdog007 »

I believe it is oil injection as there are separate tanks/fillers for gas and oil; similar to the Spree setup. With the plug out, it sounds like any of my other 2 stroke mopeds, but with the plug in it you don't hear any noticable engine "chugs".

I will try what you said; I think the tank and everything has to come off to get to the air filter holder, but I am getting spark and gas so at some point here something has to burn right?

Thanks.
kentdog007
Goped
Goped

Top end on Yamaha

Post by kentdog007 »